The Best laid plans of mice and men


But, Mousie, thou art no thy lane [you aren’t alone]
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft a-gley, [often go awry]
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promised joy.

This is from a poem written by Robbie Burns in 1786. He wrote many poems that were quite popular in Canada during the early 20th century and my father knew several off by heart.

He often quoted the above one in a Scottish accent. I remember being quite young and wondering how my dad knew how to talk like that. I believe the answer lies at Key West school where my father’s Scottish teacher imparted knowledge. I don’t remember the teacher’s name, and my father is gone now so I can’t ask him, but I do know he made an impression on my father.

And the point of this random quote and the story of my father is that I missed posting yesterday. The reasons were many and varied; some work related and some fun ones. But as my dad would say “the best laid plans of mice and men Gang aft a-gley”.

Such is life – the sky didn’t fall (ah but that’s a different story) and tonight I’m finding a little more balance and reflective time. To go along with the quote is a random silhouette of my daughter’s dog.

Bernie

Leave a Reply

